Let it snow…

“Sunshine is delicious, rain is refreshing, wind braces us up, SNOW is exhilarating; there is really no such thing as bad weather, only different kinds of good weather.”

–John Ruskin

Beau in snow

Yes, it’s snowing here in New Hampshire–AGAIN.  Actually, I can’t complain.  It really hasn’t been a bad winter, just a couple of healthy storms, and it *is* February in the Northeast, so it’s not like the weather is a surprise.

Nemo’s blast a few weeks ago was impressive, there’s no denying it. 30″ of snow gets your attention, any way you slice it.  But today’s snow is different.

This snowfall is a lullaby from Mother Nature, a soft soliloquy expressed in big, round, fluffy flakes that spiral towards earth in a lazy waltz.  I walked the dogs early this morning and we had the world to ourselves.  It was *magical*. No plows had yet sullied the little lanes of our neighborhood, no others were out stirring. The only sound was that of the snow chirping in quiet protest beneath our feet as we made our way along the silent street. It was a delightful, meandering walk and a potent reminder of how positively delightful life’s simple pleasures can be.

Beau & Mom playing in snow Bug in snow

51 comments on “Let it snow…

  1. paintdigi says:

    Good posts, beautiful blog.
    Congratulations.
    Welcome to see my creations:
    paintdigi.com

  2. Katherine Paine says:

    Long time no contact! I hope you get this! How’s things in your neck of the woods??

  3. misifusa says:

    Happy puppies and snow! So much to like in this post!

  4. Blog on! I love your pictures here of snow and dogs, and (being new to New England as I am), your acceptance of winter. :-0

  5. Cecilia says:

    In the meantime we have May, and it is warm!

  6. Lori Lipsky says:

    Marvelous quote. I’m happy to have found your blog.

  7. Thomas Ross says:

    Lori,

    Something about the snow and the dogs. And the crunch beneath our feet and the quiet that follows a snowfall- at least before the plows come.

    You capture it all so well- words and images.

    Tom

  8. Great images, your dogs looks so happy. Thank you for stopping by Bob’s site,

  9. Ann Koplow says:

    I am so glad our paths have crossed here, today. I needed this! Thanks.

  10. mselene says:

    I’m going to repeat that quote to myself as I try to patiently wait for spring to come. 🙂

  11. Gede Prama says:

    Thank you very much, for sharing and Greetings

  12. I know you write this months ago but it still seems so dreamy. It is two thousand and three degrees here in Texas so that just looks niiice. Plus I love the pics! :). Big hugs!! Jo

  13. Lori, I enjoy your lead quotes before each of your posts. I also appreciate your positivity!

    • Thanks very much for stopping by my blog, Graham! I really enjoy coming up with the different headers, finding that quote that really speaks to the topic at hand. Hope you’ll stop by from time to time. 🙂

  14. russtowne says:

    Thank you for sharing the fun photos, my friend! I like the quote at the top of your post, too, and believe it to virtually be true. Thank you for your delightful description of your magical moments.
    Russ

  15. brendamarroy says:

    I love your poetic description of snow falling. I like snow and find delight in walking through the quiet white fluff. What amazes me is how sometimes snow is heavy and I can hear it as it falls and other times it is so light and fluffy it creates a blanket of silence. Beautiful post.

    • Thx very much, Brenda. Walking in the midst of a snowfall is one of my greatest delights. I’m getting another opportunity today, too, as it’s snowing hard here in southern NH… 🙂

  16. Cristi M. says:

    I have nominated you for the Hug Award. For more details, please visit this link http://cristimoise.wordpress.com/2013/03/14/the-hug-award-hope-unites-globally/

  17. I loved the John Ruskin perspective. As we move into a new day and a new situation, we can choose to look at it through the prism of hope and new possibilities. We can choose to see the extent to which the glass is full and feel inspired and positive.

    Shakti

  18. Glad to share a piece of your beautiful winter’s day; as I sit here in the sunshine down-under; this third last day of summer.
    Just think – for you it is almost spring 🙂

  19. It looks so beautiful! We do not get snow here in Sonoma County Ca. I often wonder what it would be like 😉

    • Thx Tina, it really was absolutely gorgeous (I thought). Of course, it’s infinitely more enjoyable if there’s not anyplace in particular ya need to be. 😉 I think it’s definitely something everyone should experience at least once in their lives. Come East, friend! 😉

  20. Bonnie says:

    Lori, you have such a way with words, you turn a cold snowy day into something magical, warm and inviting. I love this image of you and the pups frolicking in fresh snow and hearing the ‘crunch’ under your boots. All the while knowing you could retreat to your coffee, a blanket and the couch for a lovely rest of your Sunday! 🙂 xo

  21. janebalshaw says:

    Lovely Lori! Today was surreal like a white on white sound stage and fun to see how you spent some time in it.

  22. Love the shots. Nothing like happy puppies frolicking in fresh snow.

  23. Sue says:

    Lovely, Lori! Wish Gracie could have been there, but it would have been less of a ‘lullaby’ for all, as you well know…

  24. mimijk says:

    Snow falling as a lullaby..what perfect imagery. The gentlest of touches – just like your writing. I delight in the pictures of you and Beau, you and Lola (though I didn’t anticipate that she would frolic like such a snow bunny!!)..Love this post and you..m

    • Awww, thx honey. And yes, Lola bug is quite literally a snow *bunny* — she literally hops around in the snow. It gives me an incredible fit of the giggles every time she does it…

  25. Simon Marsh says:

    A snowy soft soliloquy. Beautiful. The language warm from inside out. Thank you 🙂

What do you think?

