The weight of love

“Who, being loved, is poor?”

–Oscar Wilde

Miss Thing snoozing

It’s no secret that I’m crazy about my dogs, Beau & Lola. They return my love tenfold, and I am definitely the richer for it.  And while they’re each special in their own ways, many are the times here at Chez Feinberg when our Chocolate Lab Beau dominates the stage.  He’s bigger, younger, goofier, and frankly just more ‘in your face’ most of the time than Lola, the lady of the house.

Last week, however, was different.  Last week Lola Bug was center stage.  Miss Thing had to go ‘under the knife’ to have her teeth cleaned and, unfortunately, several extracted, and I was as nervous as any mother can be.  Lola is generally a love about most anything I ask of her, but she *hates* having her teeth brushed, so it’s an ongoing battle to keep those little chompers clean, and it’s one that I was losing.  So….I (somewhat nervously) made the decision to have her teeth cleaned by our vet.

It’s not that I don’t trust our vet, I do.  But Miss Thing is a *little* thing, and the idea of subjecting her to general anesthesia always gives me pause.  I adore this little girl, she is my shadow, and the thought of anything going awry during her procedure gave me a lump in my throat I could scarcely stand.  Who knew that a package weighing just shy of 14 lbs. could deliver such a dollop of love?  But this little girl does.  She loves me like no other, and as long as I’m within her field of vision, she’s happy….and so am I.

I’m happy to report that Lola came through her cleaning with flying colors, bounced back from the anesthesia without incident, powered through a few days of painkillers, and is now once more fit as a fiddle and ready for love.  She’s small, but she’s mighty, and boy does she deliver.  As her idol Mae West was wont to say, “You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.”

22 comments on “The weight of love

  1. sharalynlovesanimals says:

    Such a sweetie and I totally understand your trepidations of having her “put under.” This summer, while I had my brother’s French bulldog, it was strongly encouraged by the vet to have his teeth cleaned and like you, I was so fearful. I am pleased to say that he came through with flying colors. So glad that is behind both of them for awhile! Merry Christmas to you, David and your four-paw family!

  2. Oscar Wilde? I’m in! Love it.

  3. russtowne says:

    Thank you for sharing the good news.
    Russ

  4. I am so happy for you that your little bundle survived this ordeal and is now back to normal.
    Love the photo ….. looking right at me!

    • Thank you, Elizabeth! As you have likely gathered, she is the light of my life and whenever there’s a *chance* that something might be amiss with her, I’m a wreck. But as they say, all’s well that ends well” and she is good as new. 🙂

  5. jolynproject says:

    I’m happy everything went right! 🙂

  6. Bonnie says:

    I am so glad Lola came through like a champion..and you too! I know what a worry it is when our fur kids are not well or somehow just not 100% I am so glad that all is well again, and you can go back to just completely enjoying each other’s snuggled up company! She is such a doll!! xo

    • Thank you, Bonnie! I was intensely relieved when they called and said she was fine and through with her cleaning. She came through like a trooper. She is one fabulous little dog (not that I’m even a *little* bit biased… 😉 ) Hugs,L

      • Bonnie says:

        You should be biased! It should be no other way! I can bet you were so relieved…I can sense the big sign of relief and accompanying exhale that came after that call! Hugs xox

      • My feelings exactly. If we don’t love them more than life, who will? :-). Have a great evening, Bonnie…. Hugs, l

  7. janebalshaw says:

    Ah Lori, such a sweet story about motherhood; thank you. We have all been there with our pets! I noticed that David mentioned something I have thought – I would love to have more posts. Is it possible to hear more about your life with Beau and Lola? ox, Jane

  8. Good for Lola to get through this little hump. As to the rest of us (followers/readers), these 1-month + sabbaticals that you take are hard to take. 🙂

  9. kath says:

    I have so missed your posts! God bless the little ones like Lola. I too had a girl dog that stole my heart, but sadly left me at the tender age of 4. She too just wanted to be within hearing and sight range all the time. I cry still, just thinking of her. Enjoy her female heart every minute, there’s something special that happens there. You’re such a wonderful doggy mom, lucky are they! Peace. Kath

    • Awwww, thx Kath. Yes, I’ve been away from the keyboard for a bit. Not for lack of material, I assure you, just lack of discipline. And yes, the girls are something special. I adore Beau, and our relationship is equally precious, but definitely different. They are my joy, each in their own special way….

  10. mimijk says:

    Oh little Lola-bug – proving everyday that the size of the animal has nothing to do with the enormity of their love. Teddy is sitting here nodding as I say this, for he too often defers to his younger goofier brother when it comes to demanding center stage. I fretted with you, and understand every ounce of anxiety. I’m so glad you’re girl is back to her self (albeit with a few less teeth)…xoxo, m

What do you think?

