Our little Lothario’s day of reckoning…

Our little Lothario

Big “doings” at Chez Feinberg today:  our little ‘hunka hunka burnin’ love’ was neutered this morning.   (I know, I know, I just sensed all the men reading this post cringe involuntarily….) Trust me, it’s for the best.  Not only are there proven health and behavioral benefits,  the re-direction of energy will be widely appreciated by all.  If you don’t believe me, ask poor Lola Bug and all the lovely lasses at doggy daycare–Beau’s {ahem} attentions were getting to be a bit much, that’s all I’m sayin’.

Mr. Man was remarkably nonplussed as he entered the vet’s office this morning–said hello to all his favorite techs, batted his eyes seductively, and then looked a bit puzzled when his attentions didn’t score him the cookies that are usually forthcoming (NPO and all that, you know–no food before surgery).  Nonetheless, he didn’t hold it against them.  He loves all the folks over at DWAH, so the minute his pal Jennifer asked him if he wanted to take a walk with her, he was out the door without a backward glance at poor old mom and dad.

Dr. Rooney called a little bit ago to say that he was out of surgery and all was well.  We’ll pick him up a bit later this afternoon and bring him home for the requisite TLC.  Lola Bug is brushing up on her nursing skills–she just waltzed through the office in what I could swear was a lab coat and I heard her muttering something about the rectal thermometer with a look of glee.  Ah, family…..

8 comments on “Our little Lothario’s day of reckoning…

  1. kath says:

    Good God I love your way with words.*sigh* You make me laugh and smile. That said, when Rudder came home after being, how do I put this for the sensitive men in your blog, CASTRATED! (heeheehee) We called him “poodle dick” because of the creative shave job!
    Beau will benefit from the whole procedure and never look back. Well done to you!

    • Thx Kath, you always give my ego a shot in the arm! :-). As for Rudder, poor thing! Geesh–talk about kickin’ a fella when he’s down! Beau is very mellow at the moment–would that it would stick! I’d even take a fractional reduction in energy levels…. 😉

  2. Still cringing! Is that why little man is laying face down in grass in photo?

    • In this instance, no. He was just 8 weeks old when that photo was taken, but he has such “bedroom eyes” in it that I couldn’t resist. He *is* spending a lot of time flat on his belly on the LR rug, as if to say, “Oh no, you’re not getting access to my nether regions again anytime soon, Missy!”. I think he’s going to survive though…. 🙂

  3. mimijk says:

    Every time we had to take one of our furry babies for this visit to the doctor, my husband would hold them dramatically intoning, “I’m so sorry buddy” while the dog would gleefully lick his face. That said there is something very forlorn about them when they come home. I’m sure the Beau-man is going to get a lotta lovin’ later today..:-)

What do you think?

