Making their debut

Hello and welcome to my blog, “Donna & Diablo,” a daily chronicle of life with my canine companions. Before going much further, allow me to introduce you to the stars of our show:

LOLA, a.k.a. Miss Thing, Bug, Bugga, the Buggster and, on occasion, Donna.

Lola is a three-year old Cavalier King Charles Spaniel.  She’s a diminutive 12 lbs., but in her mind’s eye she’s a Doberman.

Lola with her Doberman buddy Chance, may he rest in peace....

Now don’t get me wrong, Lola is a sweetheart–quite simply the easiest dog I have ever owned (and I’ve owned quite a few–including three Dobermans who are also incredibly sweet animals).

She’s sweet, funny, flexible, EXTREMELY tolerant and, unlike her mother, not the least bit neurotic.   😉  She loves everyone she meets ,and I daresay most love her back.

She is my snuggler, travel partner and steadfast companion.  Wherever I am, Lola’s not far, indeed oftentimes no farther than my lap.  Cavaliers were originally bred  in the 16th century to warm the laps of well-to-do women, and it’s a duty they take very seriously.

Lola lives a rather charmed life, which led to her being dubbed ‘Donna,’ as in Prima Donna.  While she would argue vociferously that this is NOT true, I must confess her nose gets a bit {ahem} “out of joint” if her schedule is disrupted.  Ahhhh, disruption, a perfect segue for introducing the man of the house: BEAU.

BEAU, a.k.a. The Beaumeister, Bubba, Mr. Man, Handsome Boy and, not infrequently, El Diablo.

Beau is a six-month old Labrador Retriever, and he is a 51 lb. (and growing, seemingly by the hour) happy, funny, rambunctious, goofy, TOTALLY food-motivated bundle of joy.
I have always heard that retrievers were incredibly oral dogs, and I get that.  Their mouths are their main business tool.  Bred to “hunt waterfowl or upland game for long hours under difficult conditions,” these dogs are serious about having something close at hand to mouth or chew at all times.  And right now, while he’s teething, Beau is NOT picky about what that chew toy is.  Recent items extracted from his mouth include a kitchen towel, a magazine, a book, a sports bra, a stick, Dad’s smart phone, a rock, a piece of mortar, Dad’s wallet, a bar of soap, and Lola.

Another thing about Beau–he’s wicked smart.  Among his current repertoire of tricks–bringing us his food bowl when he wants a meal, bringing us his water bowl when he needs a refill, banging the Venetian blind when he needs to go out, (and opening the door if we don’t get there fast enough to suit him).

Beau is a born comedian.  He loves to play (he and Dad have particularly great games of chase and keep away) that leave them both spent.

Beau & Dad share an afternoon snooze.

As charming as he is, though, Beau also has his moments when his alter ego, El Diablo, appears.  Not as in a nasty, aggressive ‘Diablo,’ but rather as in a “Why you little devil, when I get ahold of you I’m gonna…..”   You get the idea.

This is their story, and mine.  We hope you’ll join us now and again.

4 comments on “Making their debut

  1. Katherine Paine says:

    still around??

  2. Hi Kath,

    Thanks! I’d be *happy* to help you out–it’s not hard, and I’ve still got a lot to learn myself, but I’m happy to share what I know….

  3. kath says:

    Yippee! You REALLY are clever!! Perhaps you can teach me how to do this?? (not likely) I’m so impressed! This is going to be too much fun for words! Once again I am so thrilled you brought Beau into your lives! I know Lola must have been in total shock at the time but now? Thick as thieves I’m sure! Kathy

What do you think?

