Does this dog have an ‘off’ switch?!

Let me begin by saying that I’m generally very good about reading the fine print, you know “Some settling may occur during shipping,” “Don’t operate heavy machinery after ingesting,” “This structure is not meant to bear weight,” those sorts of warnings.  But I have to confess, although I have read about the prodigious energy of the Labrador Retriever, I did NOT fully appreciate the energy level that Beau would bring to the table.  Wow!!  This dog makes the Energizer Bunny ®  look like a slacker!

I literally cannot seem to wear Beau out!  I have a neighborhood walking loop that I frequent with both Bug and Beau–it’s a 2 1/2 -3 mile walk, up and down hills, etc. and we go at a good clip.  Lola comes home and sacks out.  Beau, conversely, pants during the walk, but is once again rearing to go within half an hour or so. :-/

Walking buddies!

I used to bike with my Dobes and would love to do this with Beau as well, but I don’t want to start such intensive exercise until Beau is 18-24 months old, as from everything I’ve read, it’s not good for their bones. That said, I’ve found a great bike leash that I plan to use when Beau does reach an appropriate age.

Beau LOVES puppy playschool at All Dogs Gym, and it *does* wear him out, but sending him to school on a regular basis gets costly.  He has a good buddy Desmo, a German Shorthaired Pointer who’s equally energetic, but both of Desmo’s parents work during the day, so play dates are tougher to arrange.

So….I ask you….what do *you* find works best to tucker out a 9-month-old firecracker safely?

8 comments on “Does this dog have an ‘off’ switch?!

  1. kath says:

    Can I just say I love every comment David Kanigan makes! Don’t know him but I like him a lot! haha!

    • I know, he’s a hoot, isn’t he? He’s a fellow blogger–his blog, “Lead. Learn. Live” is great–funny, inspirational, thought-provoking, all of it. I would strongly encourage you to check it out–he never disappoints.

  2. My suggestion? Get a third dog. A whippet would be just about right…

  3. You are not far off! He just walked by and I could *swear* he was hummin’ “Stayin’ Alive.”

  4. mimijk says:

    The knights need to get their wiggles out every day and can be found chasing each other at high speed in a loop, for a good twenty minutes. At that point Sir Teddy – older and more aware of the importance of his regal image, will lie down on his back and surrender. Sir Archie, not content with any break in the game continues on his own until he gets bored (or dizzy). Maybe it’s the retriever in him…he’s always up for activity of any kind (even if he’s awakened from a royal nap). If you get any advice, I’m returning to read the comments. I am trying to teach him the value of a good nap, but he is really resistant to the idea. :-)

    • I think you’re right, Mimi, it’s the “retriever gene.” Lola bug, a spaniel, is perfectly content with a reasonable amount of exercise, followed by a lovely recline and snooze of the couch. Beau, not so much. For him, it’s a quick “disco nap,” then on to the next activity, preferably something like a triathlon. ;-)

      • mimijk says:

        I love the phrase ‘disco nap’ – I have visions of a disco ball rotating over his head with “I Love The Night Life” playing in the background…

What do you think?

